top of page

Collaborative Practice at UAL


Interesting workshop yesterday at UAL (LCC college). It concerned with the concept and the practice of collaboration amongst professionals of different background; what the perks and the burdens implied in the act of collaborating; how to bolster the right attitude toward collaborators, etc.

That was particularly relevant for me, as I am in the process of making real the Moving Gallery project (see my post on Nov. 30), and I am about to form ... let's call it for now the Moving Gallery team. So far, the team comprises me as a project leader (a former psychologist who want to be a cultural producer), a rep from the funding company (a manager in charge of finance and information), an engineer (a technician with a passion for bold project). And we are not enough; ideally, I would like to 'co-opt' a rep from an artistic organisation locally prominent (I know who, but I am not sure about how to approach her), 2 fellow students, 1 from MA Culture, Curation, Criticism curator and 1 student from Ma Narrative Environments (I do not know who yet, but I may know how to find them).

We cannot be more diverse. Mizberg would define us adhocracy, coming us together for the sole purpose of a transient project.

Having a right attitude toward the content of the Moving Gallery is important, but it is equally important having the right attitude toward the act of collaborating 'per se'. As a project leader it would be my responsibility to form/motivate/supervise/keep on track this team. This means dealing with procedures and tasks, but mostly with people. And dealing with people equals dealing with emotions (mine and theirs).

How to start on the right foot technically and emotionally? When I get it, I'll post it.

bottom of page