top of page

Know thyself, Know thy business.


As a psychologist I am 'naturally' biased towards self-assessment practices. Thanks to the MA ACE, I'm having the chance to experience some structured tools, such as the Strengths-Finders, the Dorie Clark's template, the Personal Professional Strategic Career Development Action Plan, and the

Trait Emotional Intelligence online assessment. Serious stuff indeed; filling these tests and templates involves both cognitive skills (i.e. evaluating myself in the context, ideating possible futures, pondering alternatives, etc.) and emotional skills (i.e. emotional self-awareness, containing negative emotions, etc.). And it is cognitive and emotional tiring.

Nonetheless, it is rewarding because it leads to a form of self-empowerment, at least in my case. By making think about my past and the several lives I already passed through (...I counted six...), self-assessment reminded me about where I came from and how far I went so far. Something that I should always, always keep in mind when I feel out of tune or incapable to fit into a group.

bottom of page