top of page

Peacock Time. Eppur si muove!


I ended the last post saying that it is was time for me to experiment, be bold and confident, even at risk of failing. Today I behaved as such, and it went well. Damn well. I performed my first pitch as a cultural leader, and the project that I presented was accepted. The company I pitched - which I will mention only when there's a formal agreement to seal the deal - was honestly captured by the idea of setting up an art gallery on the second decker of a bus.

The name was right (The Moving Galley), the tagline catchy (Catch a bus. Take a seat. Experience art), the project statement aligned with their mission (Surprising our bus-travellers, strengthening the cultural identity of Reading), and they also like some of the details concerning with the type of artworks, the lighting, etc.

They are preparing a letter of commitment so as to proceed with our collaboration.

So, how did it happen? How did I make it?

In the past few months, I started acting strategically, whilst in the past I focused on studying theories&practices and analysing different paths to follow. In other terms, I finally 'got-out-of-the-building', attended several meets up, conferences, informal gatherings with businesses, local organisations, charities both part of the creative industries and not. I listened carefully to others' projects, concerns, hopes, etc., and I came to understand that the town was desperately looking for a change. A change in terms of image and perception: people I talked with were tired to be considered citizens of a ghost city where the trains are on time, but where nothing is interesting. They knew that Reading has potential and they looked ready to embrace the challenge of rebuilding its cultural identity.

Aside all of that, (my listening, their talking) there was also luck, as completely by chance during one of the major gatherings I spent few hours at the table with a representative of the company now interested in the idea of a Moving Gallery.

We were 8 at the table, there were 27 tables in the room, and we were been asked to come up at least with 10 initiatives to revitalise the town. I proposed several things (i.e. combining Virtual Reality and the Abbey Quarter, performing dance on the platform on the river Kenneth, etc.), and the Moving Gallery was among them. The person with whom I'm starting to collaborate simply said 'Let's make it happen'. Thinking that it was not just a way of saying, I nurtured the contact, I sent an overview of the project I have in mind, and without being overbearing I showed my commitment and sense of purpose. Till the day, the company invited me to pitch the idea.

And now, let's roll.

bottom of page