top of page

Back to school: my learning experience at CSM

In January 2016 I got accepted by Central Saint Martin, and it was a WOW.

The first impact with the MA, in particular the first face2face session, was undoubtedly intense: I was thrilled, intimidated, worried and optimistic, all at the same time. CSM has such a vibrant atmosphere that it is impossible to be other than affected: when you pass through the turnstiles, it is like entering a parallel universe where creativity is in charge, and artistic and social experimentations are noticeably on going (i.e. pop-up stores run by student, improvised wood labs in the open, etc.). So, after a few hours you simply find yourself in a sort of work-in-progress-state-of-mind, wondering how you may contribute to the place, but also if you will be able to do so.

Despite some language difficulties, which I am still struggling with, I think my transferable skills have been fully in action: the inquisitiveness, the analytical approach, and even the sense of ownership have immensely helped me in the first three assignments.

And I am learning. A lot.

Besides the quality of the teaching, I was also impressed by my peers' professionalism and imaginativeness. For instance, while observing the West Handyside Canopy in a windy afternoon, some classmates got the idea of planning a 3-days-festival to outline the potential link between Art and sustainability: in a glimpse of an eye, they were able to combine the wind, as a source of energy/an inspiration for artists, with a cultural event (the festival). What an insight! I am quite proud to be part of such a cohort, and I expect to do all my best to contribute to its enrichment.

bottom of page