top of page

My transferable skills at work. Will they work?


The first time I have seriously thought about a job in the cultural sector was when I submitted my project proposal to UAL: it was more than a form to fill; it was a good exercise to complete, as it made possible self-assessing my ability to reason in term of sustainable, practical, meaningful cultural productions. It was then that I have understood I may have some potential as a cultural manager. My study proposal reflects, in fact, my sincere interest in designing, planning and organising initiatives where Arts serve the purpose of revitalising a neighbourhood, can be enjoyed by the many, and might assure a fair profit as well. For these ends, I identified Politeama Italiano as a perfect place: it was a movie theatre and a ballroom till the 70s, then went under renovation at the end of 2015 (to be concluded in 2017/18), and for which the local administration seems to lack a clear vision. It is meant to be a cultural centre, but the rest still continues to be vague. In my vision, Politeama Italiano owns the potential to be a multi-arts centre, and I have put on paper some ideas to find economically sustainable solutions for the cultural centre to survive; promote Arts through a balanced mix of different types of performances, capturing an audience both national and international.While writing the project, I have felt that my professional skills were at work: a proclivity towards innovative but sustainable solutions, a focus on diversity, an ability to adjust vocabulary and register to the clients' background, a sincere inquisitiveness, and a strong sense of ownership can be found in my project proposal. These are main qualities of a psychologist, but I believe they may well play a major role in the arts and cultural management as well.

bottom of page